Association of Women in Agriculture members receive scholarships

2013-04-12T10:49:00Z 2013-04-12T10:53:33Z Association of Women in Agriculture members receive scholarships Agri-View
April 12, 2013 10:49 am

Association of Women in Agriculture (AWA) at UW-Madison recently awarded 17 scholarships, totaling $8,700, for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Four student-members received $750 scholarships made possible by the Daughters of Demeter, a charitable organization made up of women interested in agriculture. Scholarship recipients included Michele Gutenberger, sophomore from Westby, majoring in agricultural business management; Taylor Holterman, sophomore from Watertown, majoring in life sciences communication; Susan Hodgson, junior from Howard’s Grove, majoring in food science and dairy science; and Kaitlyn Riley, junior from Mount Zion, majoring in broadcast journalism and strategic communications.

Breinne Hendrickson, junior from Belleville, majoring in dairy science and life sciences communication, received the $500 David Dickson Scholarship, and Julie Orth, senior from Fennimore, majoring in community and non-profit leadership, was the recipient of the $500 Delma Woodburn Scholarship. Dickson, known around the world for his dairy cattle evaluation and coaching skills, made significant financial contributions to AWA and mentored many members. Woodburn, a 1921 economics graduate, who later went to UW-Madison’s Farm and Industry Short Course, was the wife of UW Professor James Woodburn. Woodburn shared much interest in women’s success in agriculture and provided both encouragement and financial resources to AWA.

Jodi Berndtson, sophomore from Horicon, majoring in animal science; Kaitlin Gelsinger, junior from Robesonia, Pa., majoring in dairy science; and Katherine Griswold, freshman from Black Earth, majoring in life sciences communication, all received $500 AWA House Scholarships made possible by the generous support of AWA alumni and friends.

Three student-members received $300 scholarships made possible by the Dr. Larry Satter fund. Satter, a world-renowned dairy scientist, served as AWA’s long-time campus adviser. Scholarship recipients included Kaitlin Meyer, sophomore from Plainview, Minn., majoring in communication sciences and disorders/pre-speech pathology; Kayla Nyegaard, sophomore from Shelvin, Minn., majoring in dairy science and genetics; and Megan Nelson, junior for Elva, majoring in animal science.

Marie Kettler, junior from Sheboygan Falls, majoring in dairy science; Lynzie Miller, junior from Oconomowoc, majoring in animal science; and Bethany Dado, freshman from Amery, majoring in dairy science and genetics; received $500 scholarships from the AWA fund.

Receiving $400 from the fund were Kimberly Kester, junior from Nekoosa, majoring in dairy science and poultry science; and Nicole Bangart, junior from Chilton, majoring in animal science.

Copyright 2016 Agri-View. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick